Fellows’ Awards & Competitions: Gans, Griffin, Guiney, Mayne, Norten, Rogers, Wakeman, & Willis

Tuesday, January 24th, 2012

Deborah Gans‘ new rose window for the Museum at Eldridge Street, designed in collaboration with artist Kiki Smith (and pictured at left), received a 2011 Faith & Form award from the IFRAA Awards Program for Religious Art & Architecture; the Land Art Generator Initiative design competition announced its kickoff, with Executive Director Anne Guiney on the jury (deadline: 7/1/12); recipients of the 2012 AIA Honor Awards were announced–among the winners are Rob Rogers and Board Members Toni Griffin, Thom Mayne, and Enrique Norten; Rosemary Wakeman was awarded a EURIAS Senior Fellowship, and will spend the next academic year at the Netherlands Institute for Advanced Studies completing her book on the New Town Movement; Womens’ E-News will honor Beverly Willis as one of their 21 Leaders for the 21st Century at a gala reception this May.

Fellows in the News: Arad, Brandt, Gans, Libeskind, Scheerlinck, Thompson, Walker

Monday, October 25th, 2010

MassLive reviewed Michael Arad’s lecture on the design of the 9/11 Memorial; C-Burbia, a design concept created in part by Denise Hoffman Brandt, was a jury-selected winner in the Build a Better Burb competition; The Museum at Eldridge Street unveiled their new stained glass window (pictured at left), designed by artist Kiki Smith and architect Deborah Gans; the Institute for Democracy and Conflict Resolution has selected Daniel Libeskind to design their new International Beacon for Democracy in Essex, UK; Kris Scheerlinck recently accepted a teaching position at WENK Sint Lucas Ghent/Brussels, where he has been invited to run an Urban Design studio and set up an International Master Studio in the spring of 2011; Jane Thompson’s new book Design Research: The Store That Brought Modern Living to American Homes was reviewed in the NY Times and the Architect’s Newspaper; Peter Walker was interviewed about the Oakland Museum site in Metropolis P/O/V.